Five new faces for preparatory camp

Indian head coach Stephen Constantine has included five new players in the list of probables for the preparatory camp ahead of the 2019 AFC Asian Cup qualifiers in September. Sarthak Golui, Davinder Singh, Nikhil Poojary, Anirudh Thapa and Manvir Singh will join the 34-member squad for the camp that gets underway in Chennai on August 11.Having won the two games so far in their qualifying campaign against Myanmar and Kyrgyzstan, India sit on top of the Group ‘A’ and have a good chance of taking a major step towards qualifying for continent’s flagship competition with a positive result against Macau on September 5.
Though the new faces in the squad show an encouraging sign, a handful of notable absentees raise a few eyebrows. Constantine has opted to look over goalkeepers Amrinder Singh and Debjit Majumder who enjoyed a good outing with their respective I-League teams last season. Similarly, Jayesh Rane and Ashutosh Mehta once again fail to make the cut with the head coach opting to go with newcomers Germanpreet Singh and Anirudh Thapa – the duo played in the AFC U-23 Championship Qualifiers in Qatar last month. Rane and Mehta were an integral part of the Aizawl FC side that won the league title in April. Probables: Goalkeepers: Subrata Paul, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Albino Gomes, Vishal Kaith, T P Rehenesh. Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Sandesh Jhingan, Arnab Mondal, Anas Edathodika, Narayan Das, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Lalruatthara, Salam Ranjan Singh, Sarthak Golui, Davinder Singh.Midfielders: Dhanapal Ganesh, Jackichand Singh, Seityasen Singh, Nikhil Poojary, Bikash Jairu, Milan Singh, Udanta Singh, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Md Rafique, Rowlin Borges, Holicharan Narzary, Germanpreet Singh, Anirudh Thapa. Forwards: Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sumeet Passi, Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh, Balwant Singh, Manvir Singh.

Leave a Reply