Rohit Sharma, with over a 1,000 ODI runs in 2017, made a horror debut as Indian cricket team’s stand-in ODI captain in Dharamsala on Sunday. India crashed to 112 all out after being 16 for five wickets at one stage in the 1st ODI against Sri Lanka. The Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali has been a happy hunting ground for India, who have nine wins from 14 games, with five losses. Can Rohit Sharma’s team give Virat Kohli a wedding gift by levelling the three-match series today. Sri Lanka have won the toss and have opted to bowl. Washington Sundar has been handed his maiden ODI cap.
Get live cricket score of India vs Sri Lanka, 2nd ODI in Mohali here. ( LIVE SCORECARD | LIVE STREAMING INFO)

11:46 hrs IST: FOUR! Cracking shot from Rohit. Length ball outside off, the batsman drives on the up and hammers it to the long off fence.

11:43 hrs IST: Sri Lanka are looking very sharp in the field. There is some movement on offer in the air but nothing much off the deck. India have moved to 10/0 after three overs.

11:35 hrs IST: Mathews begins with a maiden but Dhawan gets going in style by drilling a cover drive off Suranga Lakmal. Superb batting.

11:29 hrs IST: Out come Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma. Angelo Mathews will open the bowling. Two slips in place

11:28 hrs IST: The national anthems are finished. For the second consecutive series, India face a must-win situation against an opposition in an ODI series. Can they comeback or will Sri Lanka deal them the knock-out blow?

11:25 hrs IST: Suranga Lakmal was the star in Dharamsala with his haul of 4/13, the most economical spell by a visiting bowler in India. He will once again be the key in Mohali.

11:21 hrs IST: The last time Sri Lanka played in Mohali, it was in 2005 and they were shot out for 112. Can India avoid a repeat of Dharamsala? Conditions are overcast and the pitch will assist seam bowling.

11:07 hrs IST: Here are the playing XI of both teams –

India: Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni(wk), Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka: Danushka Gunathilaka, Upul Tharanga, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella(wk), Asela Gunaratne, Thisara Perera(c), Sachith Pathirana, Suranga Lakmal, Akila Dananjaya, Nuwan Pradeep

11:05 hrs IST: News from the Indian camp – Washington Sundar makes his debut. The all-rounder replaces Kuldeep Yadav.

11:01 AM IST: Sri Lanka have won the toss and have opted to bowl.

10:56 AM IST: ‘GayleStorm, ‘Gayleforce’. Call it whatever you want. This man is from another planet! Yesterday, the ‘Universe Boss’ (again).

10:54 AM IST: The all-important toss in a short while.

STAT ATTACK – Sri Lanka have not won consecutive ODIs against India since August 2010.

10:50 AM IST: It’s a must-win game for the hosts. They’ve hardly found themselves in such a situation in the last couple of years. Such has been their domination! Can Rohit Sharma lead his side to victory?

10:30 AM IST: Hello and welcome to live coverage of the second ODI between India and Sri Lanka! The game is a must-win for India, who trail the three-match series 1-0.

Suranga Lakmal posted career-best one-day international figures as Sri Lanka cruised to a seven-wicket win over India in Dharamsala. India won the Test series 1-0, but the tourists ended their wait for a win in the first of three 50-over matches in emphatic fashion.

Sri Lanka won the toss and put India – without the just-married Virat Kohli – into bat in Dharamsala and that decision paid off as Lakmal took 4-13 with four maidens from 10 overs, the hosts skittled for 112.In Mohali, the team batting second has a clear advantage.

The last four ODI fixtures at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium have been won by the chasing side, with India winning three of those games. The toss, thus, assumes tremendous significance.

Leave a Reply