As many as 90 polling booths, mostly in downtown city, saw no voting in Thursday’s elections to the Srinagar Parliamentary seat, sources said.

The Srinagar constituency comprising eight Assembly segments recorded zero turnout in as many as 50 polling booths.

The majority of these booths were located in Eidgah, Khanyar, Habba Kadal and Batmaloo, sources said.

Omar Abdullah, Mehbooba Mufti Denounce Jammu-Srinagar Highway Ban

Barring the Sonawar Assembly segment, where former chief ministers Farooq Abdullah and Omar cast their votes, all other seven Assembly seats recorded a single digit voting percentage with Eidgah at 3.3 percent by the end of the polling.

Sonawar recorded 12 percent polling.

The same was the case with 13 booths of Budgam, which witnessed large scale violence in 2017 by-elections to Lok Sabha.

In Budgam area, Chadoora saw the lowest turnout at 9.2 percent among the five Assembly segments, while Chrar-e-Sharief recorded the highest turn out of 31.1 percent.

The National Conference patron Farooq Abdullah, who is the sitting MP from this constituency, is again contesting from this seat for the 17th Lok Sabha.

PDP has fielded Aga Syed Mohsin, while Khalid Jahangir from BJP and Peoples Conference’s Irfan Ansari are also in the fray.

The Congress, which is an ally of NC, has stayed away from contesting Srinagar.

BJP Srinagar Candidate Gets Show-Cause Notice For Violation

Leave a Reply