The results for the keenly-watched bypolls in two Lok Sabha constituencies and one Assembly constituency in Rajasthan will be announced in a few hours. The elections are a litmus test for the state’s BJP government that is facing an uphill battle as the Rajput community had openly announced support for the Congress in all three seats.

Congress Candidate Raghu Sharma Ahead in Ajmer Assembly Seat

Congress candidate from Alwar constituency Karan Singh Yadav is leading by 5841 votes after the first round.  Congress gets 29,309 votes while 23468 votes wen to BJP candidate Jaswant Singh Yadav.

Bypoll is Vote Against BJP’s Divisive Politics: Ashok Gehlot

“This bypoll is vote against BJP’s divisive politics. Apart from changing names of Congress-era schemes, Vasundhara Raje government hasn’t done anything the past 4 years. Unemployment is hurting the youth,” remarked the former Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot, News18 reported. The general secretary of Congress party stated that the bypoll election trends can be seen as a “precursor to not just state Assembly polls later this year but also next Lok Sabha polls.”

BJP Leads in Mandalgarh

BJP’s Shakti Singh Hada is leading in the Mandalgarh Assembly seat, with 3072 votes, while Congress candidate Vivek Dhakad lags behind.

Congress Takes Early Leads in Ajmer, Alwar

Congress is leading in both Alwar and Ajmer constituencies. Congress candidate Raghu Sharma is leading with 7,585 votes in Ajmer, News18 reported. The party is also leading in Alwar with 30,595 votes, ANI reported.

Counting of Votes For Mandalgrah, Alwar and Ajmer Begins

The counting of votes has begun. A total of 23 candidates are in the fray in Ajmer, 11 in Alwar and eight in Mandalgarh.

According to Chief Election Officer Ashwini Bhagat, Ajmer registered 65.20 percent voting, Alwar had 61.86 and Mandalgarh saw 78.78 percent polling.In 2014 elections, Ajmer had registered 68.65 percent voting, Alwar 65.50 percent, while Mandalgarh had witnessed 82 percent voting in 2013 Assembly elections.

The Election Commission had deputed 12,000 security men in three constituencies to ensure free and peaceful elections. According to the Election Commission, 4,194 polling booths were set up in the three constituencies. For the first time, EVMs with photos of candidates were provided to avoid confusion among voters regarding candidates with similar names.

42 Candidates in The Fray; Bypolls a Direct Contest Between BJP and Congress

The counting of votes of the Alwar and Ajmer Lok Sabha seats will be done in the respective constituencies, whereas it will take place in Bhilwara for the Mandalgarh Assembly seat, a spokesperson of the state election department said, reported PTI.

A total of 42 candidates are in the fray for the bypolls to the three seats, the election to which was held on Monday, 29 January.

The bypolls on all the three seats were necessitated after the sudden death of BJP MPs Sanwarlal Jat from Ajmer, Mahant Chand Nath Yogi from Alwar, and MLA Kirti Kumari from Mandalgarh.

Also Read: Congress & BJP Resort to Caste-Based Politics in Ajmer Bypolls

Leave a Reply